Snieszko Student Travel Awards

The Snieszko Student Travel Award is awarded yearly to one or more students to help cover costs associated with attending the Annual FHS meeting to present a paper in the aquatic animal health field. To be eligible, students must be members of the FHS. The request for applications is announced in the October and January issues of the Fish Health Newsletter. Following the submission of required materials, each student's application is judged based on the quality of the abstract, significance of/interest in the research, academic achievement, professional achievement, and financial need.

Past Recipients of the Snieszko Student Travel Award


  • Nick Phelps (University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff)
  • Esteban Soto (Mississippi State University)
  • Luke Iwanowicz (University of Massachusettsat Amherst)
  • Jayde Ferguson (Oregon State University)


  • Benjamin LaFrentz (University of Idaho)
  • Isabelle Cote (University of Arizona)
  • Ron Miller (University of Maryland)


  • Deborah Cartwright (University of Georgia)
  • Tanuja Upadhyaya (Jawaharla Nehru University)


  • John Drennan (University of Idaho)
  • Leslie Grabowski (University of Idaho)
  • Shasta McClenahan (Auburn University)


  • Luke Iwanowicz (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)


  • Benjamin LaFrentz (University of Idaho)
  • Pareeya Udomkusonsri (North Carolina State University)


  • Theodore Henry (Auburn University)
  • Darin Jones (University of Idaho)


  • Eileen N. Ryce (Montana State University)


  • Rachel F. Ramirez (California State University, Hayward)