Best Student Paper Award

The Best Student Paper Award is awarded yearly to the student delivering the best presentation at the FHS Annual meeting. To be eligible for this award, students must indicate that they wish to compete for the award when registering for the annual meeting. Students are judged by a panel of FHS members. Presenters are judged on number of criteria including presentation skills and scientific merit of the reserach. Recipients of this award receive a cash award and certificate/plaque.

2013 Student Award winners with Jerri Bartholomew

Past Recipients of the Best Student Paper Award

2008 - Charles Caraguel (Atlantic Veterinary College, PEI, Canada), "Describing Infectious salmon anaemia dynamic pattern at the population level using quantitative RT-PCR" & Mark Polinski (University of Idaho) "Investigations into disease susceptibility and diagnostic tools for burbot (Lota lota maculosa)"

2007 - Benjamin LaFrentz (University of Idaho), "Characterization of Attenuated Strains of Flavobacterium psychrophilum Generated by Selection for Rifampicin Resistance"

2005 - Deborah Cartwright (University of Georgia), "Preliminary Study On The Identification of Bothriocephalus acheilognathi Using Species Specific Primers"

2004 - Deborah Cartwright (University of Georgia), "A Field Study on the Effect of Riparian Zone and Associated Stream Substrata on Tubifex tubifex and their Infection Rates with Myxosporidian Parasites"

2001 - David Gauthier (Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences), "Interaction between Mycobacterium spp. and Peritoneal Phagocytes of Striped Bass (Morone saxatilis)"

2000 - Scott Snyder (University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff), "Recent Incidents of Algal Toxicosis in Channel Catfish (Ictalurus punctatus)", and David Geter (University of Southern Mississippi), "P-Nitrophenol Metabolism by Japanese Medaka (Oryzias latipes) Liver Microsomes and S-9 Fraction: Additional Evidence for the Existence of a CYP2E1-like Isoform in Teleost"